Mothers' Union

 

 

The Mothers' Union is an International Christian charity that seeks to support families worldwide.  The MU has members in 83 countries of the world and they all share one heartfelt vision - to bring about a world where God's love is shown through loving, respectful and flourishing relationships.  MU members, including those here at St. Benedict's, actively pursue this goal through prayer, events and activities, and involvement with the local community.

 

The St. Benedict's Mothers' Union group meets every 1st and 3rd Monday at 10am.  The programme for 2017 is outlined below   

 

Monday 19th February

 

 Holy Communion in Church 

Monday 5th March

 

Meeting in Church - Janet, talking about knitting 

Saturday 10th March

 

Preparing flowers for Mothering Sunday 

Monday 19th March 

 

 Meeting in Church  - Sarah Gitte, tales from my travel 

Sunday 25th March 

 

Cake stall in church 

Sunday 1st April 

 

Easter Sunday 

Monday 16th April 

 

Meeting in Church - tba

Monday 21st May 

 

Holy Communion in Church

Monday  4th June 

 

Meeting in Church - outing 

Monday 18th June  

Meeting in Church- Hazel Fountain, helping young people 

Monday 2nd July  

 Meeting in Church  - DIY to prepare for summer lunch 

Monday 30th July  

  Meeting in Church -  Summer Lunch with Guests and stalls from other branches

Monday 3rd  September 

Holy Communion in Church

Monday 17th September Wave of Prayer followed by lunch  - 11 am 
Monday  1st  October Meeting in Church - John White Historic Churches Trust 
Saturday 13th October  Deanery Autumn Fayre (date to be confirmed) 
Monday 15th October  Meeting in Church - Dawn McCauley, Leprosy Mission 
Monday  5th November Meeting in Church - Joan Bartram, Christmas Flowers  - to be confirmed 
Monday 19th  November   Meeting in Church  -Richard Warr, tales from Camina 
Sunday 25th November Deanery Christmas Party - St Mark's Church Kingsthorpe 
Monday 3rd December  Christmas Lunch
Monday 17th December Holy Communion in Church

 

 

If you are interested in joining the St. Benedict's Mothers' Union or would like to find out more about the work of the MU here at St. Benedict's, you should contact the vicar (see bottom of page) 

 

If you would like to find out more about the Mothers' Union and its worldwide activities, there is a link to their website on the left-hand side of this page.

 

'Love mercy, seek justice and walk humbly with our God.'  Micah 6:8.

 

The Mothers’ Union Prayer

 

Loving Lord,
we thank you for your love so freely given to us all.

We pray for families around the world.

Bless the work of the Mothers' Union
as we seek to share your love 
through the encouragement, strengthening and support

of marriage and family life.

Empowered by your Spirit, may we be united in prayer and worship, 
and in love and service reach out as your hands across the world.

In Jesus' name.

Amen